Rockwerks Lapidary Forum

Talk about rocks, jewelry, gemstones, collecting sites, and much more.
It is currently Mon Sep 01, 2014 6:46 pm

Contact Us | All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Welcome
Welcome to Rockwerks Lapidary Forum.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join the Rockwerks Lapidary Forum Today!

Post subject: Advice on Rock Saw
PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2010 10:24 pm 
New to group

Have thanks: 0 time
Newbie here. I recently acquired a 20" Nelson Machine Works of Portland, OR, Model 16B0 (Circa 1950s???). I've completely overhauled the saw and now just need a motor and blade. This saw is somewhat unique in that the motor drives a gear box that operates a cam/eccentric that pivots the blade carriage up and around the rock about 90 degrees. This enables the blade to contact the rock at a smaller area as it cuts.

I would like to find the following:
1. Any user/owners manual
2. Motor recommendation (the shaft that the blade mounts to has a 4-step pulley and the only other saw like it has a 4-pulley on the motor. One step drive the 'eccentric' or cam that pivots the blade up and around 90 degrees)
3. Any information on this saw or similar saws

Here are some photos (ran out of paint)

Photo as purchased:

Manufacturer plaque

Carriage/blade side view

View From Motor mount side (no Motor)

Opposite side from blade - note gear box for eccentric (green under motor mount station) and grinding wheel/tray on side

Blade side again with vice carriage and tension weights

Underside showing oil pump (gray) and eccentric gearbox (green)

Post subject: Re: Advice on Rock Saw
PostPosted: Fri Jun 18, 2010 5:34 pm